Land Management Contaminated

Preliminary Site Investigations (PSI)

A stage 1 Preliminary Site Investigation (PSI) is often required for a development application. This incorporates a desktop study of the site and relevant regulatory databases, an appraisal of site history including adjoining land uses. Where a site history and inspection can demonstrate that past or present site activities have been non-contaminating, there is no requirement for further investigation.

Detailed Site Investigations (DSI)

A stage 2 Detailed Site Investigation (DSI), is typically required when the stage 1 preliminary investigation (PSI) identifies potentially unacceptable land contamination risks on your site. Our expert land contamination team will prepare a DSI scope of work that is customised to find the right balance between the identified contamination risks, and your project budget / timeframe constraints. The detailed site investigation can include assessments of soil, sediment, surface water, groundwater, indoor and ambient air.

Remedial Managment & Validation

When an unacceptable contamination risk is present on your site, a remedial action plan (RAP) is required. This RAP is used as a framework to ensure the remedial process is using the most cost-effective process that meets all regulatory requirements.

Where removal of contamination is not practical, you may also need to adopt a long-term management strategy and the development of an environmental management plan (EMP) to address any residual contamination risks into the future. We will prepare an EMP that identifies simple and efficient strategies to manage the residual contamination during the long-term operation of the site.

Waste Classification

We can provide advice, sampling and assessment of waste for waste classification and resource recovery purposes. We can classify waste into specific groups to allow for appropriate management and disposal at a licensed landfill, as per the waste classification guidelines.

To comply with the waste legislation, those who generate waste are responsible for classifying their waste into one of six waste classes based on the level of risk they pose to the environment and human health. These six waste classes include:

  • special waste
  • liquid waste
  • hazardous waste
  • restricted solid waste
  • general solid waste (putrescible)
  • general solid waste (non-putrescible).

The purpose of waste classification is to group wastes that pose similar risks to the environment and human health facilitates their management and appropriate disposal.

To help waste generators classify the wastes they produce, the NSW Environment Protection Authority (EPA) has developed Waste Classification Guidelines which are a step-by-step process for classifying waste.

Generators and waste facilities must ensure they classify their waste carefully in accordance with the procedures in the guidelines. This is because waste can only be taken to, and accepted at, a waste facility which is lawfully authorised to receive, re-use and/or dispose of that classification or type of waste.

Trinitas can also assist organisations with general exemptions for commonly recovered, high volume and well characterised waste materials for recovery or disposal including:

  • Excavated Natural Material (ENM)
  • Recovered fines
  • Recovered aggregate

Trinitas only employs NATA accredited laboratories for sample analysis, and follows strict Quality Assurance and Quality Control (QA/QC) procedures.


CCI is very proud to have Trinitas Group as a partner for the management of hazardous materials and mitigating risks for our clients. Trinitas Group over many years have always proven to be reliable, respectful and professional to all stakeholders they encounter whilst completing their work. Their heavy investment in IT innovation and highly trained consultants ensures they provide us with a consistent high standard of work across Australia.
We’ve used Trinitas for a number of years and across a number of sites and have always found the service fast, the work professional and the price competitive. No job has ever been too big or too small for them to take on. We regularly recommend Trinitas to others in our industry who need help with hazardous materials. It’s a pleasure to do business with them.
NEXTDC are Australia’s leading data centre solutions provider, as such we are committed to providing quality and assurance that exceeds industry standards and continues to set new benchmarks. To assist us in ensuring we maintain superior health and safety standards onsite at our new S2 Sydney data centre during building and construction, we have engaged the services of Trinitas Group to assist in undertaking monthly WHS Construction Compliance Audits. We have found the team at Trinitas Group to be professional and experienced. The Trinitas Group team are continuously providing NEXT DC with clear and accurate advice in relation to our WHS legislative obligations.
A fresh approach to Health & Safety

Contact us today

Whether you have a question about our services, our products or anything else – we’d love to hear from you.

Hotspot image